Update from London

7 Nov

Todays workout
10km run

This morning, back when it was Tuesday, I woke up after a few hours of sleep (our flight from Phoenix got in close to 1am) to meet my friend for a run before I had to head back to the airport for my trip to the UK! Now it’s Wednesday but I haven’t really slept since Sunday night.

After 9 hours of flying through the air at a speed of 530mph, I made it to Heathrow where I had 4 hours to hang out before my flight to Cork. The flight was pleasant. I had 2 seats to myself, a view of the northern lights out my window, and a personal tv with lots of movies and tv shows to watch. I watched Without Limits, the movie about the runner Steve Prefontaine. One of the quotes from his coach in university was:
“If you can find meaning in the kind of running you have to so to stay on this team, then chances are you can find meaning in another absurd pastime- life.”
I honestly feel like running has improved my life significantly. Not just because it keeps me in shape somewhat, but because training for races gives you a schedule and gives your workouts a purpose. It’s also something I want to do when I’m feeling sad, angry, or happy. It usually makes me feel better when I’m sick or tired, and helps me think things through and make decisions.
So in that way, running helps give my life meaning.
Anyway it was a pretty good movie. I didn’t really know his story.

Once I was back in the world of wifi I had to get a coffee and check out the American election results. Thank you America!
I also looked up some quotes from Steve Prefontaine, because in the movie he seemed to say some good sh*t. Here are a few good ones on found:

The only good race pace is suicide pace, and today looks like a good day to die

You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.

To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.

Sorry for the lack of pics. I’ll try to make up for it in my next post.

what are your favorite running quotes ?

Leave a Reply

