Phoenix Half Marathon

4 Nov

So yesterday when we walked out of our hotel in downtown Phoenix we noticed a bunch of tents being set up. Upon further inspection we realized it was for a race. The 37th annual Phoenix 10km race. Plus this year they added on a half marathon distance. I was hoping to get in a 15-20km run while I was here so I was pretty excited about this.
I woke up at 6am this morning to go register. Even at that hour it was probably about 15oC and I was surprised to see a lot of people out to run it ( downtown Phoenix has been pretty dead since we’ve arrived ).
The race was very well organized and there was a lot of free stuff- peanut butter, mini cliff bars, power bars and gels, and web deodorant and sunscreen.

20121104-150708.jpg

My favourite was the cinnamon raisin peanut butter, which I ate on a banana after the race.

20121104-150906.jpg

My goal was to just run the race at a comfortable pace and take walk breaks if I felt tired. I didn’t have my Garmin and I couldn’t use my run tracking app since that would cost a lot of money. I tried not to look at the time on my phone until the halfway mark. When I realized I could probably finish in about an hour and 50 minutes I was pretty happy because I really thought 2 was probably the best I could so at this point.
With 5km to go I had to start pushing myself because I was starting to feel hot and tired. I crossed the finish line at about 1:49 and actually walked off to the side because I thought I might puke. My sister met me at the finish. I continued to feel nauseous for a few hours, which I think partially had to do with the temperature and my lack of water consumption.
Overall, it was a pretty nice run. The course was mostly just running down one of the main streets and back, but the view of palm trees and mountains made it more interesting.

20121104-151554.jpg

Here I am crossing the finish line!

20121104-151639.jpg

20121104-151731.jpg

The medal was designed by some jeweller here in Phoenix. I like it.

Now, I can start getting excited about the real reason we’re in Phoenix- to see Eddie Vedder tonight!

Leave a Reply

