Thanksgiving in Newfieland

11 Oct

I spent Saturday to Tuesday in St. John’s, Newfoundland.  It’s the oldest city in North America, you know.  I could just walk around downtown for hours looking at the ocean/buildings.
Saturday night we some old friends came over to my brothers house and we had drinks before going downtown.

 

George street in St. John’s is a small street that has only bars/pubs.  It also doesn’t really allow traffic.  Here I am with my sis and brother, plus his girlfriend and one of my best friends from high school.

Sunday we had a family photo shoot on some trails in the woods.  My mom wanted to have some pictures of us all together, since we rarely are these days.  It was a little awkward having someone take a million pictures of you.  Maybe I’ll post some if they’re not too ridiculous.
Don’t worry, I still fit in a few runs.  Sunday before thanksgiving dinner I ran 8.5km around Quidi Vidi Lake:
People always ask what vegetarians eat on Thanksgiving.  Well, this year my grandma made fish cakes, which I couldn’t pass up.  BUT even without those, there are soo many starchy vegetables that you really don’t need to eat turkey to feel stuffed!  Plus, my sis made a delicious pumpkin pie (from scratch).

My Monday afternoon was spent back at Quidi Vidi Lake… except I ran 16km, which was about 4 laps around thelake.  I did it in 1 hour and 20 minutes, which is my goal for the fall classic this Sunday.  I love running at sea level!   It felt easy to run that “fast” in Newfoundland, but I probably won’t be able to do it here in Edmonton.  On Monday there was more typical St. John’s weather.  A little rainy and foggy.

It was a short trip, and on Tuesday morning we took the long flight back to Alberta.  Now I wanna go back to Newfoundland.

Leave a Reply

