The trouble with dogs….and Boston

3 Oct

Todays workout(s):

Spin Class (am)
6x800m @ 6:52 min/mile pace (pm)
Fire class (pm)= weird  stretches/cardio/weight lifting class

After spin class with my most favourite instructor EVER (Randy G) this morning I was feeling pretty good.  Until I got home and saw that Maggie, my foster dog, had peed and pooped on the floor.  Like always, I got mad at her and took her outside to show her the correct place to do her business.  I don’t think she got it.  After I showered I came out to see she had pooped on the floor again (she eats more in one day than Sam does in a week).  I was so angry grabbed her to bring her over and show her why I was so mad when I slipped in the poop and landed in yet another puddle of dog pee.  DOGS- ya gotta love em.

After that whole ordeal I realized my dog Sam had thought I was mad at him and went to hide under the bed.  He wouldn’t come out and go to his room where I keep the dogs during the day and when I tried to get him out he bit me! Like a real bite that made my finger bleed a little bit!  I was so sad/mad.  I think I may have to stop fostering dogs for awhile since it seems to make Sam act pretty weird sometimes.

Sam on a happier day

Today I was reading about different ways to predict your marathon time.  I knew about the Yasso 800’s, where you take the average amount of time in minutes it takes you to run 10x 800m and that is supposed to predict how long in hours it will take you to run a marathon.  Since I want to qualify for Boston this year I have been trying to run them faster than 3 minutes and 30 seconds, just to be sure.
Well, another way is the Jeff Galloway Magic Mile.  Basically, after a warm up, you run 1 mile as fast as you can and then multiply by 1.2 for half marathon pace or multiply by 1.3 for marathon pace.  I think I will wait to try this until a couple weeks before an actual race and see how the two formulas compare.  It tells me I have to run a 6:19 minute mile in order to be able to run a 3:35 marathon.

I signed up for the 2013 Vancouver Marathon today and put my predicted finish time to be 3:35.  I have to start BELIEVING I can do it and then I might have a chance.  I am going to read as much as I can in the next couple months and make a detailed schedule that I will stick to starting in January.  I really want to qualify for Boston before I’m 30, so it’s my last year!  It’s hard to believe that I’m even thinking I can qualify for Boston since my first marathon just 3 years ago took me just over 4 and a half hours.

And NOW for the best part of my day:  PUMPKIN PIE FROYO!!!!  I absolutely love all things pumpkin.  I spent the last few days just browsing random blogs looking for pumpkin things to make.  Last night I made pumpkin muffins, and I’m trying to think of something pumpkin to make for my flight/trip to Newfoundland this weekend.  My whole family will be together for Thanksgiving for the first time in… well .. I don’t even remember!
That’s pumpkin pie, salted caramel, and a touch of plain tart froyo.  Usually I enjoy fruit toppings, but given the flavours I went with chocolate chips, granola, and yogurt covered raisins.  Plus I always get a peach ring or two because they’re my favourite candy.   Somehow so much better than fuzzy peaches.
I may have to fit in a few more trips to Tutti Frutti before pumpkin season is over.

Leave a Reply

