Job interviews are the worst

3 May

Workouts:
5.66km tempo run
YOGA

Today I ran almost a 6km tempo run.  The same route I ran last week.  I ran it in 4:48/km instead of 4:49.  What a GREAT improvement, right?!
I also joined twitter last week- you can follow me! I may forget to tweet though, since I’m not really sure how to use it yet.

I had a job interview yesterday, as I mentioned.  I wore a very professional outfit (shown in blurry photo below), but it didn’t matter because it felt more like an oral exam for a subject I didn’t even take.  SO I’m pretty sure I will not be the provincial governments newest fish disease technologist.
Do you like my ipad face and blurry mirror photo?  Maybe I should hire a professional photographer to follow me around and take pictures.

I’ve been having a hard time with taper week.  Convincing myself that I need to cut back on running AND strength training before a race is difficult.  I think I will run 10km tomorrow and take Friday and Saturday off completely.

Some tips I’ve heard over the years for taper week:
– skip your strength training for the last week
-HYDRATE!
-eat complex carbohydrates
-run about 1/3 the miles you normally do in a week
-mentally prepare yourself
-make an excellent running playlist (okay this one I made up myself, but it’s what I do)

Some of my favourite inspirational quotes to think about when I start to get real tired:

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'”
– Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

“Ask yourself: ‘Can I give more?’. The answer is usually: ‘Yes’.”
-Paul Tergat, Kenyan professional marathoner

“There is more in you than you think”
– an inscription found on the wall of a family home in Belgium before World War II

“Pain is temporary, Pride is forever”
-not sure where this one comes from but it’s on a lot of t-shirts.

Anyone have any tips for tapering or preparing for race day? or some motivational quotes?

Leave a Reply

