Yasso 800’s

18 Apr

Todays workout:
JM no more trouble zones
10×800’s meters speeds

After reading about Yasso 800’s a year or two ago I have incorporated them into my training schedule.  Apparently you can use these to predict your marathon time.

“And now you’ve got an easier way: you’ve got Yasso 800s. Want to run a 3:30 marathon? Then train to run a bunch of 800s in 3:30 each. Between the 800s, jog for the same number of minutes it took you to run your repeats”

“The last workout of Yasso 800s should be completed at least 10 days before your marathon, and 14 to 17 days would probably be better.”

-Runners World published 09/28/2001

The first time I started doing this speed work was when I was training for the Vancouver half marathon last year.  I was running them in about 3:50-4 minutes, which suggested a 2 hour half marathon. I ran it in 1:55.
Today I ran 10 800’s, each at a time of about 3:32 with a 200 meter walk in between each interval.  Does this mean I can run a 3:32 marathon?? Probably not.  But I’m feeling more confident that I’ll finally break the 4hr mark.

 

Sam

So my other dog Charlie has been staying with his father (ex boyfriend from many years ago that I bought Charlie with).  Normally when I leave the condo Sam doesn’t care, and Charlie was the one that got a bit sad sometimes.  But now I’ve noticed whenever I leave Sam starts crying very loudly.
Anyone have any suggestions for calming pets?  I’m assuming this will stop once Charlie gets back, but in the meantime I’m afraid my neighbours are going to complain!

 

Leave a Reply

