snowy saturday long run

24 Mar

Todays workout: 32km long slow run

I started off my day with a coffee, and oatmeal with canned pumpkin (+ lots of cinnamon and a bit of xylitol).  I usually don’t each much before long runs, but I’m to eat about 200 calories before long runs these days.   I ran 6km through the river valley to meet up with my friend, who is running the Vancouver Half.  She ran 16km with me.  We stayed on trails for most of the run.  After the 22km I ran back towards my house to finish off my 32 alone.Here you can see why Edmonton is a great place to run.  The whole river valley is pretty much lined with trails on both sides.

It was pretty cold starting off, but I just know this will be the last long run in winter running clothes.  Just when the trails/sidewalks were starting to get dry, we had 2 days of snow.

heading down these stairs to start my run

The river looked all creepy this morning.  At one point I was running into the fog and I couldn’t even see anything around me.

It was a good thing I was meeting my friend at the 6km mark because my ipod died and I definitely couldn’t do 32km without any form of entertainment.  And then she let me borrow her ipod for my last 10km.

my view with 8km to go

I felt pretty good, and decided to incorporate 2 hills in the last 8km.

final stretch back to my house

I finished with an average pace of 6:05/km.  Much better than last week, and I felt like I could have kept going at the end.

Now I will hang out on the couch for a few hours with my compression socks, puppies, and season 5 of Weeds.

Who else prefers to do long runs on Saturday? What is your favorite thing to do after a long run?  Anyone else get “running hangovers”?
I think running hangovers feel similar to regular hangovers because I sometimes feel very tired and thirsty

Leave a Reply

