Long runs and breakups

15 Mar

Todays workout:
30 mins of Jillian Michaels No More Trouble Zones (a.m.)
29 km run (after work)

Break-ups are hard.   Especially when the person you’re breaking up with is also your favorite running/hiking/traveling partner.  However, it’s important to get back out there (as in, out of your house), exercise, see friends, and avoid crying in bed for days.  Eating properly is also difficult.  While it’s probably okay to eat cereal for breakfast and dinner for a few days in a row, it’s important to fuel your body properly if you’re training for a race.  For the last 5 days I haven’t been eating much, and when I do, I haven’t been making the best choices (dairy queen blizzard for dinner?).
So.  If you should find yourself single after what you thought was a pretty great couple of years with a guy (or girl), my advice to you is:
1. Make a billion plans to occupy yourself before and after work until its time to go to bed.  Extra workouts come in handy here because  you are so tired you’ll fall asleep at night.
2. Listen to the Pearl Jam album Vitalogy on repeat (or whatever works for you)
3. Make a list of all the things you want in a guy that your ex didn’t have.
4. Drive around with a good friend singing angry music (this is where Kim by Eminem comes in handy- though that may be a little much for some).
5. Snuggle with puppies

Sam

Charlie

I’ve read books, and I know the best thing to do is to stop all contact with the ex and move on.  Sure I know this is probably the truth… but I’ve never been good at following those rules.  SO, as I said, breaking up with a running partner is hard.  And for that reason I will be attempting a 29 km run with my ex this evening before I jump on a plane to newfoundland to spend some time wallowing in my sorrows with my family.  It’s also my nan’s 80th birthday party- so it’s going to be a fun family reunion! (for those of you not from newfoundland, some of us like to call our grandmothers “nan”).

What are YOUR favorite breakup/angry songs?
My dogs are the cutest dogs in the world, right? 

One Response to “Long runs and breakups”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Passport troubles « runningontempeh - November 1, 2012

    […] a stressful day I had a 10km run with Mr. Ex (who you may remember from one of my first posts) to look forward to.  It’s nice talking to him these days since I don’t really feel […]

Leave a Reply

