Happy Pi Day!

14 Mar
Image

vegan pie in weigh boats- that's how we eat snacks in a micro lab

Anyone else out there celebrating Pi day with PIE???  My awesome lab mates (who are also vegetarian/vegan) brought in vegan coconut cream pie and chocolate pie. This was a nice way to start the day after having to deal with a hole in my ceiling yesterday evening.   I came home to this:

Image

 My ceiling started leaking on Sunday and instead of dealing with it, the maintenance guy thought it was a good idea to put a 12L tub in the already soggy ceiling to collect the water…. obviously not a good idea.  Fortunately all it took was a giant hole in the ceiling, and water all over my condo (and one call to the maintenance guy while crying) to get somebody to come fix it.

My work out for the day is 8 hill repeats up this wonderful hill I (and the city of edmonton) call Emily Murphy.

Bottom of Emily

 

Are hill workouts anyone else’s favorite running workout?  (by anyone else I mean the 2 other people that read actually might read this blog).  They’re hard, but I feel a great sense of accomplishment once it’s over.  One Emily Murphy (up and down) is about 800m and I try to get each one done in under 5 minutes.
Some of my favorite songs to listen to while doing hill repeats are:
Black Heart -Hey Rosetta
Pump It- Black Eyed Peas
Rock Star- N.E.R.D
Burn it to the Ground- Nickelback (embarrassing!)
Caliber- Wintersleep
Bleed it Out- Linkin Park
Whipping- Pearl Jam

What are your favorite running songs? Anyone have any good vegan pie recipes?

3 Responses to “Happy Pi Day!”

  1. Dee March 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m excited to start running hills next week. 😀

  2. creepylabmate March 15, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    I like pie.

  3. Jay May 15, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Emily is a bitch!

Leave a Reply

