FUNemployment?

26 Oct

Todays workouts:
spin class (am)
spin class (pm)

 
This picture has nothing to do with my workouts since I’ve been stuck in the gym all week, but it’s a picture I took the other morning while walking the dogs.  Instagram makes everything look cool.

Pretty Edmonton

Soo at the end of October I thought I would be done with my job at the University of Alberta.  I’ve been there for 7 years and  I need a change.  Now, for reasons I wont get into, I may not get laid off and may have to stay at my current job until I find a new one.  Which I know is the responsible thing to do, but after spending a few months thinking the end of October was it, I’m just really hoping I don’t have to stay there for much longer.

I’ve been applying for jobs, but nobody seems to want to hire me.  Or even interview me.  I’ve been applying here in Edmonton, Calgary, Halifax, and Vancouver, but I reallllly hope I get to stay in Edmonton!! I’m not ready to move yet.  However, I am pretty excited to potentially find out what this FUNemployment is all about.

The first weekend of my unemployment my sister and I will be heading to Phoenix to see Eddie Vedder! We were supposed to see him back in February but he had to postpone his solo tour due to an injury.   He has been my favourite singer since junior high.

One day after I return from Phoenix I’ll be off to spend 3 weeks in Cork, Exeter, and London.  I’m looking forward to running in different cities, and I hope I can keep a good running schedule while I’m away.  Especially because I think I’ll be running the Las Vegas 1/2 Marathon a week after I return from the UK!   Three of my friends signed up so they had a free entry.  So if I end up not going, I wont lose any money.

Thankfully I’ve been saving up my Aeroplan points for so many years that I have enough to fly to the UK and to Vegas!  Las Vegas will always hold a special place in my heart, since it’s the place I ran my first 2 marathons and has been the most fun after-marathon party I’ve experienced to date. It’ll be nice to just run the half though, because the route is kinda boring after you leave the strip. AND I haven’t had a chance to run it since they changed it to the evening.

Some other random things:
– I resisted free pizza today even though I was really hungry
– I am addicted to chocolate covered katie’s single lady cupcakes
– It’s 7:45 and I’m going to go to bed once I post this
– My friend andrew found this bag of assorted condoms and umm… cock rings (I feel awkward writing that here) in his rental car last weekend.  SO FUNNY!

Have you ever experienced a period of unemployment?
What was your most fun race?

2 Responses to “FUNemployment?”

  1. Jess @thefitspirit October 27, 2012 at 1:01 am #

    I quit my job to go traveling a few years ago. I went to Asia cause it was cheap so I could travel for longer. Definitely no regrets!!

    • running on tempeh November 1, 2012 at 1:42 am #

      Jealous! If I didn’t have a mortgage and a dog I would definitely consider traveling longer and have always wanted to go to Southeast Asia. How long did you go for?

Leave a Reply

Food, Sweat, and Beers

That's what this girl's made of...

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

my life as a vegetarian runner...and everything that goes along with it

Misadventures of the Critically Blonde

my life as a vegetarian runner...and everything that goes along with it

my life as a vegetarian runner...and everything that goes along with it

SkinnyRunner

Team Awesome? I'm on it.

Running Half Marathons, Marathon, and Weight loss

The Athletarian

my life as a vegetarian runner...and everything that goes along with it

my life as a vegetarian runner...and everything that goes along with it

The Hungry Runner Girl

It's rude to count people as you pass them... out loud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

